Nominations Invited for ICRU Gray Medal (Deadline Extended to Nov 15 2016)

Nominations Invited for Gray Medal

The International Commission on Radiation Units and Measurements (ICRU) is seeking nominations for the eighteenth award of the ICRU Gray Medal. The Gray Medal was established by ICRU in 1967. It is awarded for outstanding contributions to diagnostic radiology and nuclear medicine, radiation therapy, radiation protection and radiation science of interest to ICRU. The medal honors the late Louis Harold Gray, former member and Vice-Chairman of the Commission. 

The first award of the medal was made to Dr. Lewis V. Spencer in 1969. Subsequent recipients have been Dr. John W. Boag, Dr. Mortimer M. Elkind, Professor Maurice Tubiana, Dr. Harald H. Rossi, Dr. Dietrich Schulte-Frohlinde, Dr. H. Rodney Withers, Professor Paul Lauterbur, Dr. Herman Suit, Dr. R. Michael Fry, Dr. Martin Berger and Dr. Charles Metz, Dr. Eric J. Hall, Dr. Albert van der Kogel, Dr. Dudley Goodhead, and Dr. Willi Kalender. 

The seventeenth award was presented to Dr. Fiona Stewart at the 15th International Congress of Radiation Research meeting held May 25 – May 29, 2015 in Kyoto, Japan. 

For the eighteenth Gray Medal award, the Commission will give consideration to individuals who have made major contributions to basic science. Nominations for the medal may be made by any person or organization. They must include a complete biographical sketch (curriculum vitae) of the nominee, selected reprints or records which show the significant contributions made by the nominee, and letters of support evaluating the importance of the contributions. 

Nominations should be directed to the Chairman of ICRU, 7910 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 400, Bethesda, Maryland, USA 20814 and must be received by the ICRU no later than 1 September 2016

For further information contact:

David A. Schauer, Executive Secretary
7910 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 400
Bethesda, Maryland, USA 20814
Phone: (301) 657-2652, Ext.31
Fax: (301) 907-8678