Andre Wambersie

André Wambersie, Member, Professor Emeritus, Catholic University of Louvain, Radiobiology and Radiation Protection Department, Brussels, Belgium

wambersie.jpg     André Wambersie received his M.D. degree in 1957 at the Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL), in Belgium. He then had post-graduate training in radiobiology and radiation therapy at the Institut Gustave-Roussy in Villejuif, France, in the department of Prof. Maurice Tubiana from 1962 to 1965. He received his Ph.D. in 1967 and was appointed as Professor in the Medical Faculty of the Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL), Head of the Radiobiology and Radiation Protection Research Unit and Chairman of the Radiation Therapy, Neutron Therapy and Curietherapy Department of the Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc in Brussels. He initiated a fast neutron therapy program at the cyclotron of the University in Louvain-la-Neuve (1978) and later on a proton therapy pilot program (1991). He was Chairman of the EORTC Heavy-Particle Therapy Group from 1981 to 1987, then Secretary of the Group. After his retirement from the UCL in 1995, André Wambersie was visiting Professor at the Arthur James Cancer Hospital of the Ohio State University, USA (1995-2006) and Guest Professor at the Medical University of Vienna, Austria from 1996. He was co-author together with Maurice Tubiana and Jean Dutreix of a book on Radiobiology (Hermann, Paris, 1986; Taylor and Francis, 1990), which is now being updated (Hermann, 2008). He has participated in the EC (European Commission) MSc Radiobiology teaching program (UCL London) from 1994. André Wambersie received the Röntgen Plakette (Germany) in 1990, delivered the Eighth John R.Cameron Lecture (Madison) in 1994 and received the Pierre et Marie Curie Medal (Brussels) in 2006. He was elected an Honorary Member of the Austrian Society for Radiation Oncology, in 1999, and received the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa, from The Ohio State University, in 2000. He was elected to the ICRU in 1969 and was ICRU Chairman from 1997 to 2006. Professor Wambersie was named Honorary Chairman of the Commission in 2014.

^ Back to Top